Gaining Experience in Emerging Media
IMC 619 – Emerging Media

There’s an App for That!

Love my iPhone.  No, I’m not a reseller of Apple products, but I will say you will have to pry my iPhone out of my cold, dead fingers.  Right after I figured out how to get my blog setup at wordpress.com, I checked the App (application) Store  www.apple.com/iphone      to see if there was also an iPhone app for wordpress.  Well, of course there is!  So, my second learning task is to unravel the unique aspects of the mobile WordPress app so that I can blog from any location. 

Since this forum and the class focuses on emerging or new media, and new media has primarily been focusing on the actual software applications that power new media (Facebook, Twitter, Linked-in, etc.) what type of part does the ‘hardware’ play to enable  the public to access these wonderful new social media?  While ways to access the internet (who ‘really’ invented the internet?) has expanded drastically in the past few decades, so also have the mechanisms or technology we use. 

In their pocket.  In a recent post by a classmate, mention was made regarding how seemingly underpriviledged persons were found to have possesion of a cell phone.  I find that mere sentence very exposing to the global nature of technology and the ways emerging media have and will continue to impact so much more than whether one can update their daily status on Facebook.  Should we look at the description of emerging media more seriously as “social media” and work to uncover ways that this fantastic medium can impact the social issues at hand?  Or rather in pocket?

2 Responses to “There’s an App for That!”

  1. My dad visited this weekend with his iPhone and I found myself coveting it even more. Being able to blog from anywhere seems like something I absolutely need, especially given that I now have to blog regularly for my class. The Blackberry that I have has nothing on the iPhone!

    I remember a time when I carried around a big, clunky pager. Then I moved to a big, clunky cell phone. Then I carried a slightly smaller cell phone and a PDA. Then a cell phone, PDA and mp3 player. Now I can have all of that in one, smaller device. Amazing!

  2. I just downloaded the WordPress App today. Although I doubt my abilities to do an entire blog via app, I do think it will be a great way to do touch up work including replying to comments, etc. New media and the technology that makes it work is an amazing combination. Would Facebook be as popular without the mobile application? I think the mobile apps actually help keep the website popular. If you go a few days without having time to access your FB page from home then it becomes easier not to check it at all, but with the app you can check it waiting for a meeting to start or sitting at a traffic light. I think it will eventually become a chicken and egg sittuation – did the website make applications popular or did apps make the websites popular?


Leave a Reply

